Possession of Marijuana in Clinton Township

Possession of Marijuana in Michigan is only legal for medical purposes, and only if you have a medical marijuana card. If you do not have your medical marijuana card, then you cannot possess marijuana. Stated another way, if you are in possession of marijuana and do not have a medical marijuana card, you will be charged with a crime.

Pain management has come a long way in the United States, but there is still much to learn. For many people, marijuana is a low-cost way to deal with the pain and still live a somewhat normal life.

Unfortunately, for people using marijuana without a medical marijuana card, possession of marijuana in Clinton Township and throughout Michigan is a serious criminal offense.

Possession of Marijuana Penalties

Possession of Marijuana can be charged under state law or local ordinance. Typical first offense possession of marijuana penalties, under state law, include:

1. Up to 1 year in jail;

2. Up to a $2,000 fine;

3. Drug Testing;

4. Educational classes;

5. Community Service;

6. Court costs and Probation fees; and

7. 6-month driver license suspension.

 

Typical first offense possession of marijuana penalties, under local ordinance, include:

1. Up to 93 days in jail;

2. Up to a $2,000 fine;

3. Drug Testing;

4. Educational classes;

5. Community Service;

6. Court costs and Probation fees.

7. 6-month driver license suspension.

What is 7411?

What is 7411? It is a state law that allows for a 1st time drug offense to be dismissed from your public record, so long as you have never been previously convicted of a drug offense or used 7411. Because of this law, you want to hire a criminal defense attorney to be certain that your 1st time offense of possession of marijuana is taken under this law.

Are you going to jail for a 1st time offense of possession of marijuana?

Probably not. Going to jail for a 1st time offense of possession of marijuana means you really upset the Judge and said something you should not. Which is another very important reason to hire an attorney. A good attorney will make certain you do not say anything you shouldn’t!

You will likely be placed on probation for a first offense possession of marijuana charge. The probation fees and conditions will be burdensome. Regular drug testing, classes, and community service. Judge’s view possession of marijuana one of two ways: you qualify for a medical marijuana card and used marijuana responsibly according to the law, or you don’t have a medical marijuana card and are using marijuana illegally. If you are possessing marijuana without a medical marijuana card, then you need to be punished and sent a message.

Clinton Township Marijuana Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with possession of marijuana in Warren, Clinton Township or Sterling Heights, call Nick Daniels directly at 586-668-1229.