Zero Tolerance For Underage Drinking And Driving In Michigan

Michigan law says that anyone under the age of 21 must not possess or consume alcohol and if found operating a motor vehicle with "any blood alcohol content" will be charged with DUI, DWI or OWI. If your teen is charged with a drinking and driving offense, his or her education and employability may be in jeopardy. You want a lawyer who knows the law and will fight to get the charge reduced or dismissed.

Underage Drinking And Driving Penalties

If your teen has a bodily alcohol content between .02 and .08, the following chart details SOME of the zero tolerance penalties that may be imposed:

Under 21, between .02 and .08

First offense

Second offense within seven years

Jail

None

93 days

Fine

$250, plus costs

$500, plus costs

Community service

360 hours

60 days

License sanctions

30- day restriction

90-day suspension

Points

four

four

Fees

$500 for two years

$500 for two years

(MCL 257.625) State Law for Drunk Driving

Secretary of State

Oakland County Underage Drinking And Driving Lawyer

The Law Offices of Nickolas Daniels and Associates aggressively defends underage drinking and driving cases. We fight for dismissals and reductions. Please contact us at 586-436-3499 to schedule a consultation to discuss the details of your DUI arrest. Our firm is in Clinton Township. we represent individuals throughout Michigan.